The Mind Reels: 10 Personal Highlights from TCMFF 2015

I didn’t get to go to the 2015 TCM Classic Film Festival due to its incredibly close proximity to SXSW this year. (I still would love to know why TCMFF was so early this year… anyway…) The Nitrate Diva did this great wrap-up of this year’s festival. I hope to meet her and the rest of the incredible classic film community again in 2016!

Nitrate Diva

IMG_0106 You’d think I’d turn my pass to the right side for my photo op, but you’d be wrong.

4 days. 11 movies. 5 special presentations. 100+ buttons handed out to eager film fans. 20 hours of sleep, tops.

And I loved every minute of it.

This year, the TCM Classic Film Festival took “History According to Hollywood” as its theme. However, the history went deeper than the fancy costumes on the screens or the struggles of the past that drove the plots.

First off, TCM and TCMFF do so much to keep the history of motion pictures alive, enabling people of all ages to discover the heritage of movies. I mean, where else can you see a 1898 Méliès film from a hand-cranked projector one day and a Soderbergh hit from the 1990s the next?

More and more people of my generation (and I’m 24) are exploring Hollywood history, not…

View original post 3,274 more words

Leave a Reply

