Spring Break Catch-Up

Here’s just a run-down of the rest of the films I saw last week.

  • El Dorado – 1966, Howard Hawks – DVD – This was just fun. It really felt like just a bunch of guys getting together and making a movie for the hell of it. James Caan was priceless.
  • Broken Arrow – 1950, Delmer Daves – DVD – Eh…this one was just entertaining. It was nice to see Native Americans portrayed like human beings and not just a nameless group of villains. Still, it was just trying a little hard to teach me something. James Stewart was great, as usual. I really need to start exploring more of his Westerns. This is only the second I’ve seen after The Naked Spur.
Rebecca - Joan Fontaine and Lawrence Olivier
  • Rebecca – 1940, Alfred Hitchcock – VHS – Oh…my…god…What a picture. Joan Fontaine is one shocking beauty. What impressed me the most was Hitch’s ability to keep Rebecca as an ever-present character despite never actually appearing on screen. The film also starts out rather like a silly soap opera, but once Fontaine arrives at De Winter’s home, the film takes a complete twist, much like Hitch’s great ’50s films.
  • The Band Wagon – 1953, Vincente Minnelli – DVD – A lot of fun. It’s like Singin’ In The Rain, but it’s about saving a Broadway show rather than a movie.
  • Suspicion – 1941, Alfred Hitchcock – VHS – This was kind of disappointing. The happy ending really didn’t feel like it fit and I don’t think Fontaine is as great here as she was in Rebecca.
Wings
  • Wings – 1927, William A. Wellman – TCM – Yes, after it aired on TCM during their Oscar month, I didn’t get a chance to watch it until last week. It was great. Sure, it is dated, but I still had a lot more fun watching it than I thought I would. The daunting 132 minute runtime and the fact that it was a silent worried me that I’d find it boring, but it was nothing but. How great was Clara Bow, by the way?
  • East of Eden – 1955, Elia Kazan – DVD – My favorite of the three big James Dean films. Hands. Down.
  • Top Hat – 1935, Max Sandrich – VHS – As you can see, I’m slowing building my Fred Astaire resumé. This was fantastic and I could watch him and Ginger Rogers dance for hours.
  • From Here To Eternity – 1953, Fred Zinnemann – TCM OnDemand – Great film.
  • Jesse James – 1939, Henry King – DVD – Just bad. The only part of it that was good was the bank robbery, which felt like something Leone was definitely referencing in Once Upon A Time in the West.
  • Saving Private Ryan – 1998, Steven Spielberg – DVD – Fantastic from start to finish.
  • In The Heat of the Night – 1967, Norman Jewison – TCM OnDemand – Good.
  • Safety Last! – 1923, Fred C. Newmeyer & Sam Taylor – TCM – Yay! My first Harold Lloyd! Laughed through the whole thing.
  • Gunga Din – 1939, George Stevens – TCM – Very witty, fun action film. Pure entertainment.
…and now I’m back at Hofstra, so I clearly won’t be able to watch that many films for a long time.
Leave a Reply

