Hulu Plus Trial Over & Criterion Purchases

OK, so last night I decided to end my Hulu Plus subscription. I can’t complain about seeing 14 Criterion films for free, including all the Chaplin films (except A Woman of Paris…I just never got to it). Sure, I loved the trial (which I wrote about here), but I need that $7.99 for other reasons this month.

Anna Karina - the most beautiful detective ever in "Made in U.S.A."

Also, I made a couple of physical Criterion purchases this week. After finding out that Amazon was selling Godard’s Made in the U.S.A. for just $12.99 for some inexplicable reason, I jumped immediately. It looks like I should have waited because the price has continued to fall to just $11.49! As for the film itself, it was a little strange. It wasn’t my favorite Godard by far, but I can’t say I didn’t completely enjoy it.

 


Wendy Hiller in probably my favorite single shot from "Major Barbara"

Thursday night, I found a Barnes & Noble coupon and was initially thinking that I should use it to get 2 or 3 Things I Know About Her, but instead I went with my first Eclipse Collection set, George Bernard Shaw on Film. In my British Modernism class, we covered Pygmalion, which at the beginning of the semester caused me to get a copy of the film. So, I figured that I might as well complete the Pascal series of Shaw films and get this set. As of now, I’ve sat through the wonderful Major Barbara and the rather droll Caesar and Cleopatra. Today I’ll watch Androcles and the Lion and hopefully by tomorrow, I’ll have a full review of the set up (maybe I’ll throw in Pygmalion too).

2 thoughts on “Hulu Plus Trial Over & Criterion Purchases

  1. Just came across your ‘Using Hulu Plus’ posting at The Celebrity Cafe.Com. First of all, you write that “Not all Hulu Plus exclusive programs are streamed in 720p (which is almost equal to standard DVD quality).” The native format of ‘standard’ DVD is 480i. 720p is HD quality. Also, to get the full benefits of watching any Criterion film streamed in HD on Hulu Plus, such as Roeg’s ‘Walkabout’ or Wender’s ‘Paris Texas’, it needs to be watched on a large HDTV screen and not on a PC.

    1. Thanks for the correction. I still stand by the idea though that they should have more content up at HD level. I also think that you shouldn’t have to pay for anything that still includes commercials.

Leave a Reply

