“You can see now?”

from the end of "City Lights"

So, as I continue to go through my Hulu Plus trial with getting through as many of the Chaplin films as possible, I’ve realized just how awesome he is. Yes, Charlie Chaplin is the funniest person to ever walk the face of the earth. Prior to this Hulu binge, I saw just The Kid, Modern Times and The Great Dictator. I can now add The Gold Rush, The Circus and City Lights to that list. I’m very intrigued by his post-Dictator films, Monsieur VerdouxLimelight and The King of New York. A Woman of Paris is at the bottom of my list only because he isn’t in it. Still, from what I’ve read it is a great film and I can’t wait to get to it. I’m pretty sure The Circus is the funniest thing I have ever seen and I cannot wait for Criterion to hurry up and get these out on BluRay! If I’m going to have to wait six months in between each release, I will go nuts.

Other films I’ve run through:

  • The Night Porter – 1974, Liliana Cavani – I wasn’t really expecting this to be that good. After all, it has been called one of Criterion’s worst DVD presentations (it is non-anamorphic and has no supplements) so I figured there must be some reason why they haven’t treated it very well. The film was much more complex than I was thinking it would be. This film is not about its sexual content (which in all honesty, I didn’t find that big a deal), but rather the strange relationship between a Holocaust survivor and her torturer. Also, Charlotte Rampling is unbelievably gorgeous in this film.
  • Wild Strawberries – 1957, Ingmar Bergman – After finally seeing The Seventh Seal (thanks to a VHS copy in my university’s library), I figured that I should see at least another Bergman during the week. So, I chose Wild Strawberries. It was definitely an incredible experience. This is definitely a film that I would appreciate much better if I was much, much older.
  • High and Low – 1963, Akira Kurosawa – This was my first non-samurai Kurosawa film and I was just astounded. My mouth was on the floor the whole time. What he was doing in this film was fantastic. That last half hour should probably be known as one of the best sequences in film history.
  • Branded to Kill – 1967, Seijun Suzuki – Well…uh….yeah. That was weird. Fun but really strange.

 

Leave a Reply

