1/10/11: Ford, Fonda, Wayne…and a little old lady?

Another TCM catch-up day…

My Darling Clementine – 1946, John Ford – TCM – After seeing this, I think I’ve found another new favorite Ford. The film is much darker than I expected, which fantastically goes against the title. I actually kind of find it like a prototype The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance. Then again, the subject matter – the story of Wyatt Earp, Doc Holliday and the town of Tombstone – doesn’t really lend itself to lighter material. 8/10


She Wore A Yellow Ribbon – 1949, John Ford – Warner DVD – Sometimes we all need a break from harsh reality, so why not go with this light-hearted Western? I think it was a pretty standard Ford stuff. It wasn’t a revelation to me like Fort Apache was (I really, honestly can’t believe I hadn’t heard all that much about that one before I saw it), but I still enjoyed it. I’m starting to realize that even ‘lesser’ Ford is as good as the best by anyone else. 7/10

The Ladykillers – 1955, Alexander Mackendrick – TCM – I really don’t have much to say about this other than that is was really fun. Alec Guinness was easily the best part of it and you have got to love Katie Johnson. 8/10

2 thoughts on “1/10/11: Ford, Fonda, Wayne…and a little old lady?

Leave a Reply

