Barnes & Noble Criterion Sale

Update: The sale is now over! Let’s hope there’s another one in July. During the next one, I want to focus on getting the films that I have already seen but don’t own (like Yojimbo and Charade).

If you’re a fan of the Criterion Collection, you know that Barnes & Noble is currently running their fourth 50% off sale, which ends November 21st. During these sales, I try to focus on getting at least one box set, a few old catalog titles and some of the new releases. I missed the first one, simply because I couldn’t afford it and in the November, 2009 sale, I only got a few (including Berlin Alexanderplatz) but this past summer, I really took advantage of it (including Olivier’s Shakespeare, Red Desert, The Leopard and The Red Shoes). This November, I really exploded, although I’m definitely proud of myself for going just barely over $200. As I’m currently at my university, I figured that getting the BluRays here would be useless, so I sent those down to my house to give me stuff to watch during my winder break. Here’s my full list and I really hope I get the opportunity to review them all both for this site and buzzlegoose.

DVDs (obviously I’ve been able to watch these, so I’ll follow each with a quick thought):

  • Rashomon – This is my first Kurosawa purchase. I saw Seven Samurai on TCM last year when they had a marathon celebrating what would have been his 100th birthday. This film is brilliant, although since I really don’t have an incredible interest in Japanese cinema (at least as extreme as my love for French cinema) I’m happy with just having this and Seven Samurai.
  • Children of ParadiseThree hours and ten minutes of pure bliss and easily one of my new favorite films…and the comparison of this to Gone With The Wind is insane. Aside from taking place in a setting long gone, they could not be more different. Unfortunately, this is the only Marcel Carné film still in print.
  • Pepe le Moko – I gave this a full review, so you can just click the link.
  • The Adventures of Antoine Doinel – Last week, B&N released a 25% off coupon that I swore I wasn’t going to use…but I did and got the one box I’ve always wanted but kept putting off for just $33. This set is easily my favorite Criterion purchase ever.
  • 3 Silent Classics by Josef von Sternberg – reviewed for buzzlegoose – just click the link

BluRays:

  • Seven Samurai –  No words can describe how great this film is and I can’t wait to see it.
  • Vivre sa vie – This is the only Godard I managed to get, although I did keep looking at Made in USA and 2 or 3 Things I Know About Her. One of these days I’ll get those two, although I also still need Masculin, Feminin, Tout va bien and Band of Outsiders.
  • Paths of Glory – I’ve got the original MGM DVD of this and, again, this will be awesome I hope.
  • The Thin Red Line – I haven’t seen this and it will be my first Malick. I can’t tell you how happy my parents were to see this on their doorstep because (a) it’s in English, (b) it’s in color and (c) it wasn’t made 50 years ago.
  • The Night of the Hunter – A friend of mine showed this to me through iTunes and even then I could tell how great it was. I can’t wait to see it on a 42″ screen though. It’ll definitely feel like a second first viewing.
  • Modern Times – I’ve seen The Kid and The Great Dictator thanks to the same, previously mentioned friend who has the Warner/MK2 releases and a few shorts online. Seeing the great Chaplin in 1080p is going to be eyeopening.

All for around $220. I’ll get to finally see my BluRays in a little less than a month…I don’t think I’ve ever been this anxious to get to my winter break before!

2 thoughts on “Barnes & Noble Criterion Sale

Leave a Reply

